First Night of the Hunger Games!

Posted on

Seeing the faces of now lifeless bodies appearing in the sky makes me face the unjust constellations of death the Capitol has set before us. A wave of relief crashes over me and I am happy to see that my friends from District 2 haven’t been killed yet.  I question my initial reaction though, realizing that my survival might come down to taking their lives. The sudden artificial night creates a glow around me, making my thoughts of death overwhelm me. What if I never see my family again? How will they handle my death? What if I have to kill someone?  I shake my head trying to knock out distracting thoughts and bring in helpful ones.

Trying to think about going home encourages me to keep searching for a safe place to set up for the night. I see a dark scurrying shadow shuffle behind a tree and I stealthily catch the eyes of someone I once considered a friend. Remembering that every move I make is under the supervision of Panem, I decide to act like I hadn’t seen the girl who used to braid my hair and share secrets with. My vision focuses on safety, leaving soft indentations in the mud as the only sign that I have been there.

A little farther down this rainforest terrain, I spot a  bushy safe-haven that I am sure will keep alive through the night. As I warily approach, the holder of a pointed knife and a bunch of berries greets me with a cool stare that chills me even in this humid place of hate. We size each other up, and while my mind tells me this is the end, this stranger holds out her hand. She is sharing her berries with me and with a tacit agreement to not attack each other, I pick up the precious sustenance out of her calloused hand.This small signal implies we will share food with each other. We agree with hushed whispers and confiding glances that we will meet here for food but not share hiding places. She is a strong,fast, and protective farmer but I can’t give her the satisfaction of watching her back because this is the Hunger Games.


3 thoughts on “First Night of the Hunger Games!

  1. This was very enjoyable to read. I liked the idea of making an alliance early but the fact that you don’t completely trust her. I thought how you were looking for a place to hide was clever too. The only thing you could improve would be to describe more where you were hiding when you saw this person and came out to meet them.

  2. This was a great blog post. Your opener was incredible I really like the simile about the constellations. I would like you to describe the setting better though. Maybe just a few sensory details showing where you are. Yet the plot you set forth was very good. I liked your awareness for what goes on in the games as well. Great work.

    • The blog was great. The introduction was great and really got me excited to read the rest of the post. All that I could have asked for was a bit more sensory details. The blog was great and I really enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *